Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

> While their explanation is reasonable

Their explanation is illogical:

> Previously, Uber only collected data from the user if the rider had the application open. Now, if a rider calls for an Uber and closes the app, Uber says it will continue to collect location data up until five minutes after the ride ends. That means Uber can see where you end up after you leave the car.

That's the change; the reasoning for this change?

> Uber hopes to eliminate the most frustrating part of the experience: the game of phone tag that both the rider and driver play when trying to coordinate the pickup spot.

That, of course, doesn't occur in the five minutes after I get out of the car. They of course mention more generically,

> "We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance safety," Uber says on its website.

But that's not really enlightening … and not a convincing reason for having it persist beyond the app being open.



> That, of course, doesn't occur in the five minutes after I get out of the car.

The logic is that it is likely that you will likely use Uber to go back as well. And they can't track your actual pickup spot unless they keep the tracking always on until you are picked up, which will be way more than 5 minutes.




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: